Book Review: When Villains Rise (Market of Monsters #3) by Rebecca Schaeffer @RaincoastBooks @HMHKids @HMHCo @HMHteen @netgalley #whenvillainsrise #netgalley #bookreview #bookreviewer #bookblog #bookblogger #booksokthebookshelf

42267143. sy475

PUBLISHER: HMH Books for Young Readers

PUBLICATION DATE: September 8th, 2020

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐


Thank you to the publisher for the eARC of this book via NetGalley and for also sending me a beautiful finished hardcover copy of this book.



Dexter meets Victoria Schwab in this dark and compelling fantasy about a girl who is determined to take down the black market once and for all in the conclusion to the trilogy that started with the critically acclaimed Not Even Bones.

Nita finally has Fabricio, the boy who betrayed her to the black market, within her grasp. But when proof that Kovit’s a zannie—a monster who eats pain in order to survive—is leaked to the world, Nita must reevalute her plans.
With enemies closing in on all sides, the only way out is for Nita and Kovit to take on the most dangerous man in the world: Fabricio’s father. He protects the secrets of the monsters who run the black market. Stealing those secrets could be the one thing that stands between Nita and Kovit and certain death in the thrilling conclusion to the trilogy that began with the critically acclaimed Not Even Bones.



I absolutely LOVE this series and fell in love with the main character Nita from the first novel, Not Even Bones. She is a strong female character, full of life and fight, so much personality, and not afraid to voice her opinion or fight for those she loves and for what she believes in. She is full of determination, not afraid to get her hands dirty when she needs to, and is a fun character to read and follow along. Then there is Kovit, a mean and nasty Zannie, who you will eventually come to love (or perhaps still despise) as you read through this series of books and follow along on his adventures as well. We are introduced to both characters in the first novel, and all three novels in this series follows them along on their life and adventures. I enjoyed how this last novel delved deep into Kovit’s life growing up, and it gives us some insight into what he went through as a young child and young man, to help mold and shape him in to the man and person he is today.

I don’t want to give too much away in this novel for those of you who are new to this series and have yet to read and first two novels in the series, however I can say that if you haven’t read this series yet you are truly missing out on a great series! You need to go and grab your copy of this series today, you will love the unique storyline and the unique  characters throughout the series. 

Well done Rebecca! I loved this series and I am looking forward to seeing what you come out with next!


MY RATING: 5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s