Blog Blitz & Book Review: The Birthday by Carol Wyer @bookouture @carolewyer #blogblitz #bookreview #bookblog #booksonthebookshelf #bookouture #carolwyer #thebirthday #bookblogger

thumbnail_The-Birthday-Kindle

Hi there and welcome to my stop on the Blog Blitz for The Birthday by Carol Wyer. Thank you to Kim Nash and Bookouture for inviting me to take part in this exciting Blog Blitz.

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

One hot summer’s afternoon, five-year-old Ava Sawyer went to a party. She never came home… 

When five-year-old Ava Sawyer goes missing from a birthday party at a local garden centre, the police are bewildered by the lack of leads. That is until two years later, when Ava’s body is found and another little girl, Audrey Briggs, goes missing. Audrey also attended that party …

Leading the investigation is Detective Natalie Ward. A mother of two teenagers, this case chills her to the bone, and is a disturbing reminder of the last job she worked on. One that still keeps her awake at night…

Natalie soon discovers that Ava’s mother has some worrying gaps in her alibi and as she digs deeper, she’s sure Ava’s father is not telling the full story. And what did the owner of the garden centre Elsa see that day? Something that she’s not telling Natalie …

Just as Natalie is facing up to the grim possibility that Ava and Audrey were killed by someone close to home, another little girl from the party doesn’t come home from her ballet lesson. Can Natalie find a way to stop this killer before more innocent lives are taken?

Gripping, fast-paced and nail-bitingly tense, this book will keep you flying through the pages long into the night. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

 

PURCHASE YOUR COPY OF THE BOOK HERE:

Amazon

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

carol wyer

Carol Wyer garnered a loyal following as an author of romantic comedies, and won The People’s Book Prize Award for non-fiction (2015). In 2017 she stepped from comedy to the “dark side” and embarked on a series of thrillers, featuring the popular DI Robyn Carter, which earned her recognition as a crime writer.

The Staffordshire-based writer now has more crime novels in the pipeline, although she can still sometimes be found performing her stand-up comedy routine Laugh While You Still Have Teeth.

Website |Facebook |Twitter

 

MY REVIEW:

Three words to describe this book – lies, betrayal and deception! Wow this book was certainly a wonderful read!

This was my first book I have read by author Carol Wyer and it was a fabulously written book. I was hooked from the very beginning. A little girl goes missing at a birthday party and nobody has any clue where she is? Wow that right there sucked me into the story line. Where could little Ava have disappeared? How could no one notice she had gone missing from the party?

I found myself flipping through the pages of this book as I was wanting to know more. One by one the young girls all seem to disappear. Who is responsible? And why are these young girls suddenly disappearing?

I found Detective Natalie Ward to be a very likeable character. She is hard working, determined, and eager to get her job done, much to the dismay of her family – her husband and children. She often works late night, sometimes pulling an all-nighter, in an attempt to solve the case. She won’t rest until she finds out the person, or persons, responsible for these missing young girls.

I enjoyed this book from cover to end. There are so many twists and turns to keep the reader invested in the story and wanting to read more to see if the little girls would be found and the person responsible brought to justice. I thought I knew who the guilty person was only to find out I was wrong, again and again. I loved that about this book. It keeps you guessing and guessing right through to the very end.

I highly recommend you to read this book. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

 

FOLLOW US ON THE BLOG BLITZ:

blog tour cover

Advertisements

10 thoughts on “Blog Blitz & Book Review: The Birthday by Carol Wyer @bookouture @carolewyer #blogblitz #bookreview #bookblog #booksonthebookshelf #bookouture #carolwyer #thebirthday #bookblogger

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s